Glass recycling curbside pick-up ending in LR, NLR, Sherwood


Marco Verch / CC BY 2.0

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (News release) – Effective April 1, glass items will no longer be accepted for curbside residential recycling in Little Rock, North Little Rock and Sherwood.

Waste Management, the company contracted to provide curbside residential recycling pick-up for Little Rock, North Little Rock, Sherwood and unincorporated areas of Pulaski County, recently announced the removal of glass items from the list of accepted residential collection items. This change in policy is being made to help improve the effectiveness of the local recycling process and sustain its environmental benefits. The policy has been in effect for residents in the unincorporated areas of Pulaski County for the past two years.

“The fact is that glass breaks and mixes in with other recyclables,” said Craig Douglass, executive director of the Regional Recycling and Waste Reduction District. “As a result, it could keep paper, cardboard, metal cans and plastic bottles from being properly recycled, which is inefficient and costly.”

Residents are encouraged to take recyclable glass items to one of the five Green Stations located in Pulaski County, to Edwards Food Giant/Cash Saver stores, or to other designated drop-off locations. Addresses for each location along with information about which glass items can and cannot be recycled can be found at

“Our job is to reduce the amount of waste that ends up in landfills and to maintain the quality, efficiency and effectiveness of our overall recycling program. To do that, we want to encourage the continued responsible recycling of glass,” Douglass said. “That is why we have made alternative arrangements for people to continue recycling glass items through drop-off locations.”

Ace Glass is also offering a new residential curbside pick-up service for a monthly or annual fee. Visit for more information.

About the Regional Recycling and Waste Reduction District
The District is one of 18 Arkansas regional solid waste management districts authorized under Act 752 of 1991. The Regional Recycling District includes all of Pulaski County.

The Board consists of the Pulaski County Judge and the mayors of Jacksonville, Little Rock, Maumelle, North Little Rock, Sherwood and Wrightsville. The mayors of the smaller communities of Alexander and Cammack Village are ex-officio members of the Board.

In Arkansas, solid waste management districts assist local governments in planning and overseeing municipal solid waste management programs and services. Districts also facilitate recycling programs and administer recycling grants and waste tire management programs.

Original Source


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.